skip navigation

Eight Bison named to the ECFC All-Academic Team, Mallas earns third straight award

Eight Bison named to the ECFC All-Academic Team, Mallas earns third straight award

WASHINGTON - The Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) announced it's fourth annual All-Academic honorees and Gallaudet University earned eight of the 49 total selections.

Gallaudet senior Denton Mallas (Milwaukee, Wis.) was selected for the third consecutive year to the ECFC All-Academic team, while juniors Nick Elstad (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Adham Talaat (Springfield, Va.), and Mike Hantge (Hutchinson, Minn.) each made their second consecutive appearances on the team. Senior Kevin Berrigan (Frederick, Md.), junior Peter Leccese (North Bellmore, N.Y.) and sophomores Gregg McConville (Frederick, Md.) and Nico Santiago (Moorestown, N.J.) received their first selection to the all-academic team.  To be honored, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing, have participated a minimum of two years with the team and achieved a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.30.

"I am proud of this year's honorees. These student-athletes represent our program well on and off the field and are role models for our younger players on the team," said Gallaudet coach Chuck Goldstein. "We hope we can increase our number next year as we continue to build a strong foundation and tradition within our Bison football program where academics come first."

All eight ECFC teams were represented on the 49-player team, Norwich University leds the way with 12 selections, Gallaudet University, Castleton State College and Husson University followed with eight selections each.

This is Mallas' third consecutive year on the ECFC All-Academic team. Mallas joins Gallaudet alum Caleb Hinton as the only two players from GU to be named to three straight ECFC all-academic teams. Mallas is also a 2012 National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete candidate.

Talaat was honored this season by College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) with 2012 Capital One Academic All-American Division III football second team honors. Talaat was the third Bison to earn this honor and the first since 1993, when Wayne Langbein was named to the men's track and field Academic All-America second team. Brian Bippus was the first Bison to earn the honor, when he was named to the men's basketball Academic All-America second team in 1991. Talaat was also named to the ECFC second team defense this past year where he recorded 45 total tackles and 7.5 sacks on the season. He also had 12.5 tackles for a loss, forced five fumbles and had a fumble recovery.

Elstad also earned All-ECFC honorable mention honors for the 2012 season. He is a jack-of-all-trades, rushing the ball 67 times for a total of 395 yards and one touchdown. After taking over at quarterback he passed the ball 22 times for 129 yards and three touchdowns.

Gallaudet had nine all-academic honorees last year in the ECFC's third year, five in 2011 and two in 2010.  GU's total now stands at 24 in four years.

Also see: