skip navigation

Gallaudet defensive back Denton Mallas selected as NFF candidate for the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards

Gallaudet defensive back Denton Mallas selected as NFF candidate for the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards

DALLAS – Gallaudet University senior defensive back Denton Mallas (South Milwaukee, Wis.) was selected as one of the best and brightest from the college gridiron as announced by The National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame on Thursday. Mallas is one of 147 candidates honored from the Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. From the pool of 147 candidates the NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients to be named to the 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments. The 147 nominees also comprise the list of semifinalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation.

"This is a tremendous honor for Denton and for Gallaudet University. He has been an incredibly hard worker and he has contributed significantly on special teams," said third-year Gallaudet head football coach Chuck Goldstein. "It is great to see a young man who puts in the amount of effort he does, both in the classroom and on the field receive such a prestigious honor."

Mallas is a four-year letterwinner in football at Gallaudet and has twice been named to the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) All-Academic team. On the field, Mallas appeared in eight games in each of his three previous seasons as a Bison football player; he has appeared in all three games so far this season. Mallas, a History major, is slated to graduate May 2013.

"This year's candidates truly embody the National Football Foundation's mission of building leaders through football," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. "They are standouts in the classroom and on the field and have become leaders in their respective communities. Each school should take great pride in being represented by such well-rounded young men who will undoubtedly go on to do great things in life."

Denton Mallas headshot Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

"The NFF would like to personally congratulate each of the nominees for maintaining such high standards throughout their collegiate careers," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "We are extremely proud to showcase their achievements, and there is no question that the NFF Awards Committee will have an incredibly difficult task in selecting the final group of honorees from among this esteemed group."

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients, and the results will be announced via a national press release on Thursday, October 25. Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy. Each member of the 2012 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City and be honored December 6 during the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf=Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the Campbell Trophy.

Previous winners of the Campbell Trophy include Florida's Danny Wuerffel (1996), Tennessee's Peyton Manning (1997), Marshall's Chad Pennington (1999), Ohio State's Craig Krenzel (2003) and most recently Florida's Tim Tebow (2009) and Texas' Sam Acho (2010) to name a few of the college football standouts that have received this prestigious award since 1990.

Mallas is one of 41 nominees selected from Division III, which has the largest pool of teams (239) to choose from, and he is the only nominee that hails from the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference. Gallaudet is the only football program from D.C. represented among the 147 candidates.

Gallaudet has only had two other NFF Scholar-Athlete honorees over the years. The first came in 1992 when Jeffrey Kurz was bestowed the great honor and the second came just last year when Caleb Hinton's academic and athletic prowess was recognized.

About NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards

The NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, was established in 1959 as the first initiative in history to honor scholar-athletes with post-graduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership abilities.

About the NFF & College Football Hall of Fame

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. For more information, please visit


  • 3.57 Average GPA
  • 29 nominees with a 3.80 GPA or better
  • 91 Team Captains
  • 74 All-Conference Picks
  • 21 Academic All-America Selections
  • 14 All-America Selections
  • 50 Nominees from the Football Bowl Subdivision
  • 35 Nominees from the Football Championship Subdivision
  • 12 Nominees from the Division II
  • 41 Nominees from the Division III
  • 9 Nominees from the NAIA
  • 68 Offensive Players
  • 53 Defensive Players 
  • 26 Special Teams Players 

Also see: