skip navigation

McConville, Santiago named to 2015 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

McConville, Santiago named to 2015 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

DALLAS – Gallaudet University football seniors Gregg McConville (Frederick, Md.) and Nico Santiago (Moorestown, N.J.) were named to the 2015 National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 grade point average (GPA) or better throughout their college career.

A total of 817 players from 278 schools qualified for membership in the society's ninth year, setting a new record for the number of schools represented in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Gallaudet was one of two schools in the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) to have honorees, as fellow ECFC member Husson University had five student-athletes. Achieving the most honorees was Brown University, who had 16 honorees. The 2014 Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota from University of Oregon is also on the list.

Gallaudet now has 10 honorees to be selected to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society as McConville and Santiago join Caleb Hinton (2012), Kevin Berrigan (2013), Denton Mallas (2013), Ryan Bonheyo (2014), Nicholas Elstad (2014), Mike Hantge (2014), Peter Leccese (2014) and Adham Talaat (2014).

McConville is a four-year letterwinner and one of the six co-captains for the 2014 season. He was named to two ECFC All-Academic teams in 2012 and 2013. This past season he played in nine games for the Bison as a linebacker, recording 82 tackles, 38 assisted and 44 solo, nine tackles for a total loss of 35 yards, and two and a half sacks for a total loss of 17 yards, one fumble recovery and one interception.

Santiago is a four-year letterwinner and one of the six co-captains for the 2014 season. He was named to the 2014 CoSIDA Football Academic All-District First Team (District 2), 2014 National Football Foundation (NFF) National Schola-Athlete Candidate, as well as named to two ECFC All-Academic teams in 2012 and 2013. Santiago played only five games for the Bison as linebacker, recording 16 tackles (eight solo), three tackles for a total loss of four yards, and one fumble recovery.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 5,744 student-athletes since its inception.

Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as a chairman emeritus. Each player, awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

"We have honored nearly 6,000 student-athletes in the last nine years thanks to Jon Hanson's generosity," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, "We are grateful for his passionate belief in the scholar-athlete ideal, and the Hampshire Honor Society allows us to showcase the names of tomorrow's leaders while inspiring future generations to follow in their footsteps."

Also see:

About The Hampshire Foundation The Hampshire Foundation is the charitable arm of The Hampshire Companies, a privately-held, fully-integrated real estate firm that has over 50 years of hands-on, cycle-tested experience in acquiring, developing, leasing, repositioning, managing, financing and disposing of real estate. Learn more at

About The National Football Foundation Founded in 1947, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. For more information, please visit