skip navigation

GU's Sean Maiwald named to the 2016 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

GU's Sean Maiwald named to the 2016 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas – Gallaudet University senior offensive lineman Sean Maiwald (San Jose, Calif.) was named to the 2016 National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 grade point average (GPA) or better throughout their college career. 

A total of 876 players from 278 schools qualified for membership in the society's 10th year, setting a new record for the number of athletes honored in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Gallaudet was one of three schools in the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) to have honorees, as Maritime (N.Y.) College had three student-athletes and Mount Ida College had two student-athletes. Brown University, has 16 honorees, achieving the most honorees for the second year in a row.

Gallaudet now has 11 honorees to be selected to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society as Maiwald joins Caleb Hinton (2012), Kevin Berrigan (2013), Denton Mallas (2013), Ryan Bonheyo (2014), Nicholas Elstad (2014), Mike Hantge (2014), Peter Leccese (2014), Adham Talaat (2014), Gregg McConville (2015) and Nico Santiago (2015).

Maiwald is a four-year letterwinner who started all nine games at offensive tackle for the Bison. He helped to block defenders from Gallaudet's quarterback as the Bison threw for 991 yards and eight touchdowns. GU's ground game gained 415 yards on 297 carries and scored three times. He also recorded two solo tackles on the year. Maiwald was named to his third straight ECFC All-Academic team this past February.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 775 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 6,628 student-athletes since its inception.

Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as a chairman emeritus. Each player, awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

"We have honored nearly 6,500 student-athletes in the last 10 years thanks to Jon Hanson's generosity," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, "We are grateful for his passionate belief in the scholar-athlete ideal, and the Hampshire Honor Society allows us to showcase the names of tomorrow's leaders while inspiring future generations to follow in their footsteps."

Also see:

About The Hampshire Foundation The Hampshire Foundation is the charitable arm of The Hampshire Companies, a privately-held, fully-integrated real estate firm that has over 50 years of hands-on, cycle-tested experience in acquiring, developing, leasing, repositioning, managing, financing and disposing of real estate. Learn more at

About The National Football Foundation Founded in 1947, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. For more information, please visit