skip navigation

GU's Sean Fenton named to the 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

GU's Sean Fenton named to the 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas – Gallaudet University senior linebacker Sean Fenton (Chicago, Ill.) was named to the 2017 National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 grade point average (GPA) or better throughout their college career. 

A total of 1,089 players from 297 schools qualified for membership in the society's 11th year, setting a new record for the number of athletes and programs honored in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Gallaudet was one of four schools in the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) to have honorees. Castleton University led the way with six honorees while Gallaudet, Maritime (N.Y.) College and Mount Ida College had one honoree. Brown University and Saint John's University (Minn.) lead the country with 18 honorees. This is the third year Brown has had the most honorees or tied for the most honorees.

Gallaudet now has 12 honorees, in six consecutive years, to be selected to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society as Fenton joins Caleb Hinton (2012), Kevin Berrigan (2013), Denton Mallas (2013), Ryan Bonheyo (2014), Nicholas Elstad (2014), Mike Hantge (2014), Peter Leccese (2014), Adham Talaat (2014), Gregg McConville (2015), Nico Santiago (2015) and Sean Maiwald (2016).

As a senior linebacker and heart of the Bison defense, Fenton started in eight games and was a 2016 William V. Campbell Trophy semifinalist as announced by the National Football Foundation (NFF). The four-year letterwinner and four-time Dean's List honoree was also a 2016 NFF Capital Region College Scholarship honoree. In 2015, Fenton was selected to the CoSIDA Academic All-District First Team for District 2.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 777 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 7,725 student-athletes since its inception.

Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as a chairman emeritus. Each player, awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

"We have honored more than 7,700 student-athletes in the last 11 years thanks to Jon Hanson's generosity," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, "We are grateful for his passionate belief in the scholar-athlete ideal, and the Hampshire Honor Society allows us to showcase the names of tomorrow's leaders while inspiring future generations to follow in their footsteps."

Also see:

About The Hampshire Foundation The Hampshire Foundation is the charitable arm of The Hampshire Companies, a privately-held, fully-integrated real estate firm that has over 60 years of hands-on, cycle-tested experience in acquiring, developing, leasing, repositioning, managing, financing and disposing of real estate. Learn more at

About The National Football Foundation Founded in 1947, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. For more information, please visit