skip navigation

Gallaudet's Drew Faulkner and Brad Peterson named to the 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Football offensive lineman Drew Faulkner (center) and Brad Peterson (left) walk up the ramp to Hotchkiss Field on a sunny afternoon in the Bison navy uniforms. A National Football Foundation logo is in the upper right corner.

IRVING, Texas – Gallaudet University senior offensive lineman Drew Faulkner (Niceville, Fla.) and Brad Peterson (Avalon, Pa.) were named to the 2019 National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 grade point average (GPA) or better throughout their college career. 

Faulkner is a four-year letterwinner and played a total of 32 games throughout his GU football career; six of them in the 2018 season. Peterson is a four-year letterwinner and played a total of 36 games throughout his GU football career; seven of them in the 2019 season.

The 1,643 players honored in 2019 sets a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 1,274 honorees in 2018. The 424 schools represented breaks the previous mark of 308 set in 2018.

Gallaudet was one of five schools in the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) to have honorees as the conference totaled 16 selections. Division III's Saint John's (Minn.) led all schools in 2019 with 20 honorees. Brigham Young and Vanderbilt led all FBS schools with seven members each while Harvard topped the FCS with 16 honorees. Minnesota Duluth was the Division II leader with 10 members and Doane (Neb.) had the most honorees in the NAIA with nine.

Gallaudet now has 16 honorees, in eight consecutive years, to be selected to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society as Faulkner and Peterson join Caleb Hinton (2012), Kevin Berrigan (2013), Denton Mallas (2013), Ryan Bonheyo (2014), Nicholas Elstad (2014), Mike Hantge (2014), Peter Leccese (2014), Adham Talaat (2014), Gregg McConville (2015), Nico Santiago (2015), Sean Maiwald (2016), Sean Fenton (2017), Katie Bigelow (2018) and Devaron Scott (2018).

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 778 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 10,660 student-athletes since its inception.

Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as a chairman emeritus. Each player, awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

"We have honored more than 10,000 student-athletes in the last 13 years thanks to Jon Hanson's generosity," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning. "We are grateful for his passionate belief in the scholar-athlete ideal, and the Hampshire Honor Society allows us to showcase the names of tomorrow's leaders while inspiring future generations to follow in their footsteps." 

Also see:

About The Hampshire Foundation The Hampshire Foundation is the charitable arm of The Hampshire Companies, a privately-held, fully-integrated real estate firm that has over 60 years of hands-on, cycle-tested experience in acquiring, developing, leasing, repositioning, managing, financing and disposing of real estate. Learn more at

About The National Football Foundation Founded in 1947, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. For more information, please visit