skip navigation

First John Perry Gallaudet Basketball Camp a success in Hartford, Conn.

Instruction being shared during the 2019 John Perry Gallaudet Basketball Camp in Conn.

HARTFORD, Conn. - The first John Perry Gallaudet Basketball Camp was a success at the American School for the Deaf held here from June 30 to July 5 according to Gallaudet men's basketball head coach Kevin Kovacs, who helped to run the camp.

The camp featured 42 campers and coaches from the following schools; Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf, Lexington School for the Deaf, Marie Philip School, Model Secondary School for the Deaf, New York School for the Deaf, Pennsylvania School for the Deaf, Rhode Island School for the Deaf and Walden School.

Three GU student-athletes Emelia Beldon, Rory Lewis and Kalib Jones participated as instructors for the camp.

The camp included games, drills and skill stations consisting of ball handling, shooting, passing, defense, screening and high-intensity training. Campers also learned about the late John Perry, former Gallaudet assistant coach and four-year student-athlete, who passed away last January.

"Thanks to ASD for being a wonderful host and team player with Gallaudet," said Kovacs.

The second annual John Perry Gallaudet Basketball Camp will held at the American School for the Deaf in summer 2020. Dates will be announced in the future.

2019 John Perry Gallaudet Basketball Camp - Group Photo. Five rows of people in camp t-shirts looking at the camera.

John Perry Gallaudet Basketball Camp Award Winners

John Perry Award
Jayden Orlang, Yasmin Sicaju

Glue Award
Jacob Cross, Yasmin Sicaju

Defensive MVP
Shannon Cotto, Olivia Collins

Most Improved 
Moises Almonte, Maria Hernandez-Giron

Blue Collar Award
Andy Degante Aguilar, Maysan Id-deen

3-point Champion
Joshua Wojnar

FT Champion 
Joshua Wojnar 

Knockout Champion
Joshua Wojnar

1-on-1 Champion
Joshua Wojnar, Josh Robinson, Steven Hopkins, Kade West, Maysan Id-deen, Slavik Sukhovstev

3-on-3 Champion
Olajuwon Waddell, Slavik Sukhovstev, Jasper Damas, Aquil Roane, Daniel Belozovsky

5-on-5 Champion 
Jibreal Id-deen, Joshua Wojnar, Steven Hopkins, Ethan Robinson, Peter Dammer, Andrew Parent, Nandes  Ramos, Andy Degante Aguilar, Shannon Cotto 

Bison All-Star 
Jaykuss Figueroa, Jayden Orlang, Jeremiah Deans, Kyle Florio, Maxwell Moulton, Amogne Konkel Harmon, Shannon Cotto, Joshua Wojnar, Steven Hopkins, Jacob Cross