skip navigation

Men's Swimming & Diving

Gallaudet's Ben Sealts repeats as NEAC Swimmer of the Year as Bison place third overall

2019 NEAC Men's Swimmers of the Year. Dan Mullen (left) from SUNY Cobleskill along with Gallaudet's Ben Sealts (right). NEAC Asst. Commissioner Stephanie Dutton stands between them with the award.

CAZENOVIA, N.Y. - The Gallaudet University men's swimming and diving program wrapped up the 2019 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) championship here Sunday night at the Schneeweiss Athletic Complex on the campus of Cazenovia College. The Bison finished on the podium, third overall, and took home some additional hardware.

Sophomore Ben Sealts (Ottawa, Ohio) was named NEAC Men's Co-Swimmer of the Year with SUNY Cobleskill sophomore Dan Mullen. This is the second year in a row these two swimmers have shared a NEAC postseason award as the two were NEAC Men's Co-Rookie of the Year honorees last season.

SUNY Cobleskill made a move on the last day of the three-day championship to win its third consecutive conference championship. The Fighting Tigers finished with 358 points to edge out Wells College (354) by four points. Gallaudet checks in, third overall, with 244 points followed by the host Wildcats (55) in fourth.

Sealts won the 200-yard butterfly on Sunday evening as he touched the wall in 2:09.81.

Gallaudet finished third in the 400-yard freestyle relay with a time of 4:46.38. The team consisted of Sealts, freshman Nick Hohrman (Fergus Falls, Minn.), sophomore Xiangming Liu (Dandong, China) and sophomore Abe Polanco (Devine, Texas).


  • Hohrman placed third in the 100-yard freestyle (1:00.04)
  • Polanco was fourth in the 1,650-yard freestyle (27:34.62)
  • Liu finished fifth in the 200-yard breaststroke (3:56.10)


This concludes the 2018-19 season for the Gallaudet University men's swimming and diving program.

Also see: