skip navigation

Men's Cross Country

Alfaro, Clark finish in the top 28 as men’s team finishes 8th at NEAC championships, women finish 11th

Alfaro, Clark finish in the top 28 as men’s team finishes 8th at NEAC championships, women finish 11th

MARCY, N.Y. – The Gallaudet University men’s and women’s cross country teams traveled to New York to compete in the 2013 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) championships Saturday hosted by SUNYIT on the Wildcats campus course. The men totaled 212 team points placing them eighth overall out of 10 teams competing. The GU women’s team finished 11th out of 11 teams after amassing 269 team points. 

The men’s eighth place finish this year mirrors their performance last year as they tallied 196 team points to place eighth out of 10 official teams.

The host Wildcats took home a NEAC championship after a very impressive showing Saturday. The Wildcat runners tallied only 27 total team points on their way to the championship.  The next closest team was SUNY Cobleskill who finished with 52 points, 25 more than SUNYIT. Penn St.-Abington finished third with 72 points followed by Penn St.-Berks (98 points), Morrisville State (162), Lancaster Bible College (174), Keuka (176), Gallaudet, Cazenovia College (236) and Wells College (246).

SUNYIT had six of their seven runners achieve All-NEAC honors, including NEAC Runner of the Year sophomore Derek Struck. Struck won the 8K and broke his own record set earlier this year with a time of 26:33. SUNYIT head coach William Tylutki, was named the NEAC Coach of the Year. SUNY Cobleskill runner Evan Quinones received NEAC Rookie of the Year after posting a time of 26 minutes and 42 seconds, earning him a second place finish.

Gallaudet was paced by sophomore Ivan Alfaro (Yakima, Wash.) who finished in 23rd place with a time of 31 minutes and two seconds, narrowly missing All-NEAC third team honors. Right behind Alfaro was freshman Michael Clark (Portland, Ore.) who finished the 8K in 31 minutes and 21 seconds, earning him 28th place. The top 21 runners earn all-conference recognition (seven per team).

Sophomore Braden Forbes (DeLand, Fla.) was the third Bison to cross as he finished 56th overall with a time of 35 minutes and 55 seconds. The final three Bison to cross the finish line were sophomore Gabriel Carino (Bronx, N.Y.) in 59th place at 36:31, freshman Michael Hokanson (Eau Claire, Wis.) in 64th place at 37:57 and freshman Francisco He Joa (Margate, Fla.) in 72nd place at 46:33. There were 73 runners that finished the NEAC championship race.

Five runners represented the Bison women’s team as they faced a tough NEAC field. SUNY Cobleskill retained their top position in the NEAC as the team earned its fifth consecutive NEAC championship after totaling 67 team points. Morrisville State College finished right behind SUNY Cobleskill tallying 71 team points followed by Cazenovia College (76), Wells College (82), Penn St.-Abington (104), Penn St.-Berks (163), Lancaster Bible College (201), Keuka College (209), SUNYIT (220), St. Elizabeth College (259) and Gallaudet. 

Morrisville State senior runner Billie Jo Hinds earned NEAC Runner of the Year honors as she won the 5K with an impressive time of 20 minutes and 37 seconds. SUNY Cobleskill runner Taylor Tommell was named NEAC Rookie of the Year while her coach, Mitchell Tomaszkiewics, earned his second consecutive NEAC Coach of the Year award.

Junior Rachel Young (Leesburg, Va.) was the first female runner for the Bison to complete the 5K as she crossed the finish line in 25 minutes and 28 seconds – good for 44th place. Young was trailed by fellow junior Crystal Padilla (Riverside, Calif.) in 47th place with a time of 25:48. The final three runners for Gallaudet were Allison Tyeryar (Walkersville, Md.) in 59th place at 27:25, Elizabeth Reza (Jefferson, Ga.) in 72nd place at 30:01 and Roberta Dunlap (West Valley City, Utah) in 78th place at 31:47. There were a total of 84 female runners that finished the championship course. 

This was the last team meet for the Bison this year. The NCAA Division III Southeast Regional Championship will take place on Nov. 16 at Lee Hall Mansion in Newport News, Va.