skip navigation

Men's Cross Country

Two Bison earn All-NEAC honors, Close lands on second team

Two Bison earn All-NEAC honors, Close lands on second team

WASHINGTON - Sophomore Alex Close (Tallahassee, Fla.) made Gallaudet University men's cross country history when he earned North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) all-conference honors after his performance at the 2014 NEAC championships. Close became the first Bison runner to earn multiple All-NEAC honors since GU joined the conference during the 2010-11 season.

Close was not alone on the 2014 All-NEAC men's cross country teams as freshman Dylan Rich (Brockton, Mass.) earned third team honors as the top 21 runners earned All-NEAC accolades. The top seven runners earn first team honors while 8th-14th place receive second team honors and 15th-21st are third team honorees.

Close, who just missed first team honors, finished eighth overall as he completed the 8K course in 28 minutes, 37.6 seconds. Rich placed 18th overall as he crossed the finish line in 29:22.7.

Penn St.-Abington junior Alex Kane won the men's race with a time of 27:18.8 as he took home 2014 NEAC Men's Runner of the Year honors. SUNY Polytechnic Institute freshman Greg Bogdan was honored as the 2014 NEAC Men's Rookie of the Year for his fourth place finish (27:47.7) while Bogdan's coach Bill Tylutki took home 2014 NEAC Men's Coach of the Year honors as the Wildcats won a second straight championship.

Also see: