skip navigation

Men's Cross Country

GU cross country teams ready to compete at 2018 NEAC championships this Saturday

Gallaudet men's cross country runner in the field wearing a gold Gallaudet jersey with GALLAUDET in dark blue letters across the front and his number pinned below.

WASHINGTON - The Gallaudet University men's and women's cross country teams traveled to Lancaster, Pa., on Friday to prepare for the 2018 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Cross Country Championships being hosted by Lancaster Bible College. The championship will be run on Saturday, Oct. 27., starting at 10 a.m.

The women's 6K championship race will begin at 10 a.m., followed by the men's 8K race at 11:15 a.m. This year's event will feature 12 NEAC schools: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible, Morrisville State, Penn College, Penn State Abington, Penn State Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly and Wells College. The championship awards ceremony will follow the conclusion of the men's race at approximately 12:30 p.m.

On the women's side, Penn State Berks comes into the weekend as the defending champions after winning its first conference crown in 2017. The Bison women's team is led by freshman Sierra Pratt (Katy, Texas), and sophomore Taylor Nguyen (Ballwin, Mo.). Last year, the Bison finished in 10th place.

For the men, SUNY Poly will be in search of its sixth-straight NEAC championship. Gallaudet's men's team is led by junior Kai Christenberry (Birmingham, Ala.) and freshman Liam Painter (Edgewood, N.M.). Christenberry and Painter have been the Bison's first and second place finishers in the last two races. GU took 12th place in last year's NEAC Championships with 305 team points.

The top five finishers for each squad will count towards their team's total tally, with the best overall team score from each race then taking home the championship. The first-place finisher of each race will be named the conference's runner of the year, while the top 21 runners from each race will be named to the NEAC all-conference teams; (first team: 1st-7th, second team: 8th-14th; third team: 15th-21st). The NEAC cross country head coaches will vote on the NEAC Coach of the Year after the meet is over.

2018 NEAC Cross Country Championships