skip navigation

Gallaudet's Hannah Neild named Jostens Trophy finalist

Gallaudet women's basketball player Hannah Neild smiles at the camera and holds an orange basketball with her right arm. The Jostens logo is in the upper right corner.

SALEM, Va. - Gallaudet University women's basketball guard/forward Hannah Neild (Litchfield, N.H.) was named a finalist for the 2019 Jostens Trophy announced Friday by the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC).

The Jostens Trophy is awarded to the outstanding NCAA Division III men's and women's basketball players who excel on the court, in the classroom, and in the community. This season marks the 22nd presentation of the awards, with the inaugural trophies bestowed in 1998.

Neild is one of 10 women's finalists and the first Jostens Trophy finalist in Gallaudet history. The senior was named the 2018-19 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Player of the Year and made a second straight appearance on the all-conference first team. She is second in NCAA Division III in points scored (649) and third in points per game (25.0).

The Rotary Club of Salem is responsible for the initial review of nominations and narrowed the collection of candidates over the past two weeks. The Club's Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating system in determining the lists of finalists. The system ensures an objective process thru the first round of vetting. The 20 finalists continue thru the review process, with a national selection committee of 30 or more individuals charged with determining the two winners of the 2019 Jostens Trophy honors.

Ballots from the national selection committee are due by March 7 with the winning schools expected to be notified by March 8. The awards presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 14, in conjunction with the 2019 NCAA Division III women's basketball semifinals and championship in Salem, Va., on March 15-16.

About The Jostens Trophy
The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem to honor the most outstanding men's and women's NCAA Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess, and community service. The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded NCAA Division III student-athlete. This year's class marks the 22nd year the awards have been presented. Additional information on the award can be found at

Women's Finalists
Lauren Bondi | Smith College
Emma Dorshimer | Gettysburg College
Hillary Hellmann | Case Western Reserve University
Maya Howard | DePauw University
Briana Moore | Bridgewater College
Hannah Neild | Gallaudet University
Victoria Pena | University of Texas at Dallas
Hannah Spaulding | University of St. Thomas
Madison Temple | Thomas More University
Jess Vormelker | Thiel College
Men's Finalists
Ben Boots | University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Austin Coene | Roger Williams University
Cooper Cook | Nebraska Wesleyan University
Robert Duax | University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Nolan Ebel | Augustana College
Marcos Echevarria | Nichols College
Cam Fails | Hanover College
Aston Francis | Wheaton College (Ill.)
Sam Gabbard | UC-Santa Cruz
Jordan Jenkins | Willamette University