skip navigation

Women's Volleyball

Women's volleyball to honor 2006 Sweet 16 team during Homecoming

Women's volleyball to honor 2006 Sweet 16 team during Homecoming

WASHINGTON - The Gallaudet University women's volleyball program will pay tribute to the 2006 team during Homecoming Weekend on the 10th anniversary of the Bison making their Sweet 16 appearance in the NCAA Division III tournament.

Gallaudet will host Eastern Mennonite University on Friday, Oct. 28, at 7 p.m. in the Field House. In between the second and third sets there will be a 10-minute break where the Bison program will honor this historic GU women's volleyball team.

The 2006 team posted a 30-10 overall record and went 5-2 in Capital Athletic Conference (CAC) play. GU was led that season by CAC Player of the Year Tamijo Foronda. Gallaudet earned three all-conference honors as Foronda and Kristina Burke were selected to the first team while Pia Marie Paulone was picked to the second team. Foronda was named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-American Third Team while Burke earned honorable mention. The pair plus Pia Marie Paulone were on the AVCA All-Region teams.

Gallaudet defeated Penn St.-Altoona in the first round of the NCAA tournament with a straight set win. The Bison then knocked off Haverford in the second roud, 3-2, before falling to the region's host and eventual national champion Juniata College, 3-0, in the regional final (Sweet 16). GU and Juniata played to a 41-39 third set.

This was as far as any Gallaudet athletic team has gone in the NCAA tournament tying the 1998-99 women's basketball team, who reached the Sweet 16.

Gallaudet set many team, individual, career, CAC and NCAA records during this magical season.

2006 Gallaudet University Women's Volleyball Team

  • Krystle Berrigan
  • Amanda Biskupiak
  • Kristina Burke
  • Brittany Ellenbecker
  • Tamijo Foronda
  • Justine Jeter
  • Amanda Krieger
  • Shana Lehmann
  • Melly Miller
  • Ludmila Mounty-Weinstock
  • Micaela Paulone
  • Pia Marie Paulone
  • Jenna Poehlmann
  • Shabnam Razmpour
  • Ursa Rewolinski
  • Amy Siebert
  • Head Coach: Lynn Ray Boren
  • Assistant Coach:Patrick O'Brien
  • Assistant Coach: Valerie Trofimenkoff
  • Manager: Colleen Farrell