skip navigation

Women's Volleyball

Gallaudet's Darriyan Thomas named to AVCA All-Region first team

Gallaudet's Darriyan Thomas named to AVCA All-Region first team

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced the 2016 AVCA Division III All-Region teams and Gallaudet junior outside hitter Darriyan Thomas (Vallejo, Calif.) was named to the Northeast Region first team. This is Thomas' first appearance on an AVCA all-region team.

This is the latest of a number of honors that have been bestowed upon Thomas this year. She was named the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Player of the Year and picked to the All-NEAC first team for a second straight year last week. She currently has 455 kills, 386 digs, 75 service aces and 15 blocks in 36 matches.

Thomas is the only player from the NEAC on any of the AVCA all-region teams. This is Gallaudet's 27th all-region honor since 1986.

Thomas led the Bison to a 21-15 record and a seventh consecutive NEAC championship. Gallaudet prepares to face The College at Brockport (32-3) on Friday, Nov. 11, at 8 p.m. on the Brockport campus in the first round of the 2016 NCAA Division III women's volleyball championship.

Gallaudet's AVCA All-Region Honorees

2016 – Darriyan Thomas (1st team)
2015 – TraciAnn Hoglind (HM)
2014 – Kali Frowick (1st team)
2012 – Jessica Israel (1st team)
2012 – Kali Frowick (Honorable Mention)
2011 - Jessica Israel (Honorable Mention)
2009 - Justine Jeter (Honorable Mention)
2007 - Shana Lehmann (Honorable Mention)
2006 - Kristina Burke (1st team)
2006 - Tamijo Foronda (1st team)
2006 - Pia Marie Paulone (Honorable Mention)
2005 - Valerie Trofimenkoff (1st team)
2005 - Charity Sanders (Honorable Mention)
2003 - Valerie Trofimenkoff (1st team)
2001 - Laurie Anderson
1999 - Ronda Jo Miller
1997 - Ronda Jo Miller
1996 - Karen Gilbert
1996 - Ronda Jo Miller
1995 - Karen Gilbert
1995 - Dyan Kovacs
1994 - Dyan Kovacs
1993 - Brandy Otto
1992 - Karen Gilbert
1992 - Brandy Otto
1990 - Aimee Tucker
1986 - Angela Kuehn

Also see: